Non-Executive directors

Click images below to view biographies

  • Suresh Kana

    Suresh Kana (62)


    PhD (Hon), BCom (Hons), MCom, CA(SA), CD(SA)

    Suresh was the CEO and senior partner of PwC Southern Africa and PwC Africa. He served on the PwC Global Board and its Strategy Council. He is the chairman of the Financial Standards Reporting Council of South Africa, a member of the King Committee on Corporate Governance and vice chair of the Integrated Reporting Committee of South Africa. Suresh is a professor of accounting at the University of Johannesburg. He is a non-executive director of the JSE Limited, chairman designate of Murray & Roberts Limited and vice chair of the Audit Committee of the United Nations World Food Programme based in Rome. Suresh was appointed as a non-executive director to the board of Imperial on 1 September 2015 and appointed as independent non-executive chairman of the board on 3 November 2015.

  • Ashley (Oshy) Tugendhaft

    Ashley (Oshy) Tugendhaft (69)

    (Deputy chairman)

    BA, LLB

    Oshy is the senior partner of Tugendhaft Wapnick Banchetti & Partners, a leading Johannesburg niche law firm. He is also a non-executive director and deputy chairman of Alviva Holdings Limited (formerly Pinnacle Technology Holdings Limited). He was appointed to the board in April 1998 and as deputy chairperson in March 2008.

  • Roderick John Alwyn Sparks

    Roderick John Alwyn Sparks (58)

    (Lead independent)

    BCom (Hons), CA(SA), MBA

    Roddy is a former managing director of Old Mutual South Africa and Old Mutual Life Assurance Company (SA), and the former chairperson of Old Mutual Unit Trusts, Old Mutual Specialised Finance and Old Mutual Asset Managers (SA). He is a non-executive director of Truworths International and Trencor and chairs the board of advisors of the UCT College of Accounting. Roddy is the lead independent director and was appointed to the board in August 2006.

  • Peter Cooper

    Peter Cooper (61)

    BCom (Hons), HDip (Tax), CA(SA)

    Peter is the immediate past CEO of RMB Holdings Limited (RMH) and Rand Merchant Investment Holdings (RMI). His early career was in the financial services sector, first as a tax consultant and later specialising in corporate and structured finance with UAL Merchant Bank. He joined Rand Merchant Bank in 1992 as a structured finance specialist and transferred to RMB Holdings in 1997, where he was appointed to the board in 1999. He continues to serve as a non-executive director of RMH, RMI, OUTsurance and MMI. He was appointed to the board on 24 February 2015 and chairs the investment committee.

  • Graham Wayne Dempster

    Graham Wayne Dempster (62)

    BCom, CTA, CA(SA), AMP (Harvard)

    Graham was appointed to the board on 24 February 2015 and is a member of the audit and investment committees and the chairman of the asset and liability committee (ALCO). He is a non-executive director of Telkom and AECI and the Independent non-executive chairman of Long4Life Limited. Graham was an executive director of Nedbank Group Limited and Nedbank Limited and retired in May 2014 with over 30 years' service in the Nedbank Group.

  • Thembisa Skweyiya (Dingaan)

    Thembisa Skweyiya (Dingaan) (44)

    BProc, LLB (Natal), LLM (Harvard), HDip Tax (Wits)

    Thembisa is an admitted attorney to the New York State Bar, USA.

    She is the past chairperson of Ukhamba Holdings, an empowerment shareholder in Imperial. She is an executive director of Skweyiya Investment Holdings (Pty) Limited and Theshka (Pty) Limited. She is currently a director of Famous Brands Limited and Sumitomo Rubber South Africa. She was appointed to the board in November 2009.

  • Phumzile Langeni

    Phumzile Langeni (43)

    BCom (Acc), BCom (Hons)

    Phumzile is the executive chairman of Afropulse Group. She is currently the chairman of Mineworkers' Investment Company. She also serves as an independent non-executive director of Master Plastics, Massmart and various other listed and unlisted boards. She was appointed to the board in June 2004.

  • Mohammed Valli Moosa

    Mohammed Valli Moosa (59)

    BSc (Mathematics)

    Valli is a non-executive director of Sanlam Group Holdings and Sappi and the non-executive chairperson of Anglo Platinum and Sun International. He is a director of Lereko. Previously, he was president of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and the chairperson of Eskom, and served as a cabinet minister in the national government of South Africa from 1994 to 2004. He is also the chairperson of WWF (SA). Valli was appointed to the board in June 2005.